The Ocean of Life

Article number: 604058
Availability: In stock (15)

Who can forget the sense of wonder with which they discovered as a child the creatures of the deep? In this vibrant hymn to the sea, one of the world's foremost conservation biologists, known as the "Rachel Carson of the fish world" (The New York Times), takes us back in time to tell the story of man and the sea, from the earliest traces of water on earth to the oceans as we know them today. If you spend time by the sea, you might have noticed that jellyfish are more common now, and fish are smaller and harder to find. But there's a lot more going on beneath the waves that you can't see. What Callum Roberts does in this powerful book is pull together all of the disparate strands of marine science to tell the story of the enormous transformation unfolding around us. "The Ocean of Life" considers the course of currents first discovered by Benjamin Franklin and the latest developments in ocean chemistry. It looks at pollution and noise pollution, rising tides and temperatures, industrial fishing and aquaculture. It covers everything from shrimp farming in China to the fates of sea fans on Caribbean reefs. It helps us understand how things that we think of in isolation are interconnected and offers clear insights into how we can and must change course. Because our oceans are changing faster than at any time in human history and we are the agents of that transformation. Passionate and persuasive, The Ocean of Life will appeal to readers of The Omnivore's Dilemma and Four Fish and to all grownup kids who love the sea and want to share its pleasures with their children. Hardcover, 360 pages. Author: Callum Roberts. All book sales are final.

0 stars based on 0 reviews